15840 SE Taylor St, Portland, OR 97233 • Phone 503-762-3207 • Fax 503-762-3237
Powered by Translate
Translation by Google

Certified Staff

 

Certified Name Email Phone
Instructional Coach Sherrie Kendall sherrie_kendall@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4755
ELL Molly Guyot molly_guyot@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4757
ELL Greg Wilson gregory_wilson@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4754
Math Coach Sarah Schmidt sarah_schmidt@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4759
Music Bridget Davies bridget_davies@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4761
P.E. Alex Grandjean alex_grandjean@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4771
Speech Pathologist Shani Herstein shani_herstein@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4760
SPED Eric Sanchez eric_sanchez@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4734
School Psychologist Ingrid Surette ingrid_surette@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.7317
Title I Reading Specialist Karissa Fuchs karissa_fuchs@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4770
Title I Reading Specialist Denise Karuse denise_krause@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4770
TOSA Mary Shortino-Buck mary_shortino-buck@csd28j.org 503-762-3207 ext.4759

 

Sherrie Kendall, Instructional Coach

Sherrie Kendall is Oliver’s new Instructional coach.  Her passion is literacy.  You will find her supporting classroom teachers, modeling lessons in classrooms, and doing everything she can to make sure all of our Otters become Otters who love to read and write.  She has a BA in Elementary Education, a MA in Curriculum and Instruction with a Literacy focus, and holds two Reading Endorsements.  

Shani Herstein, Speech-Language Pathologist

Bachelor’s Degree: The George Washington University, Washington, DC 2007

Master’s Degree: Northwestern University, Chicago 2009

Why I’m an SLP:  Communication is in everything that we do!  Communication doesn’t just help us understand academics in the classroom, it’s vital to forming relationships and day to day living at home and on the playground.  I am a speech-language pathologist because I believe that helping a student with communication skills helps them have an overall better school experience and sets them up to be successful citizens after graduation.

My favorite things:  I have loved to travel my whole life!  When I can’t travel, I enjoy spending time with my sweet dog, Oliver, my husband, Adam, and our baby daughter, Liana.

Eric Sanchez, SPED

I am the youngest of seven children and am a first generation American – my mother is from Mexico and my father is from Cuba. I grew up in southern California playing soccer, skateboarding and interested in music. I played soccer at my local community college, then earned a bachelor’s degree in history from San Francisco State University. Shortly after I earned a masters in Education and obtained my Special Education Teaching Credential. Prior to moving to Portland I’ve worked in the elementary and high school level. My interests are in music, art and books.

Who is Ms. Shortino-Buck?

Mary Shortino-Buck SEGway Teacher on Special Assignment

Bachelor’s Degree: University of Maryland 1989

Master’s Degree: George Fox University 1998

Doctorate: University of Portland 2017

Why I Teach: I teach because I love to learn. When I was in elementary school, learning was neither easy nor enjoyable for me. I want children to understand that learning might be hard but that doesn’t mean you can’t learn. I want to help children see that learning new things is fun and important to figure out the world in which they live.

What I Believe: I believe that learning is social and comes from being curious about our world. I believe that everyone is a learner and everyone is a teacher. Children need classrooms to be places where they can share their thinking and learn from how others think. I strive to create a classroom where children understand it is OK to make mistakes, ask questions, and change their thinking. It is my responsibility to respect my students as individuals with great minds, challenge them to go beyond what they think they are capable, and help them develop their understanding through language.

My Favorite Things: I truly love teaching and sharing my day with the incredible children at Oliver. I like hiking with my family, listening to music, and dancing. I also love reading articles about how our brain works.

A Little About Me: I earned my undergraduate degree in Art History and Studio Art. I worked at NASA, Goddard Space Flight Center writing educational material and designing interactive exhibits. I have also worked in art conservation and taught business technology at PCC before I earned my master’s degree in teaching. I spent two years traveling to cities in 12 different states to help elementary schools improve their reading programs. I have two incredible daughters, a wonderful husband, and a silly dog.

One of my favorite quotes is by Audre Lorde, “The learning process is something you can incite, literally incite, like a riot.”  I strive to incite my students to wonder, investigate, be curious, and learn.